Wachtmeister Award Information

2017 Wachtmeister Award

(The deadline has passed for this award.)



The 2017 Wachtmeister Award will be given to a creative nonfiction writer. Applicants must have worked professionally for the past 15 years and have demonstrated achievements in their field, including a minimum of at least two full-length books as well as grants and awards. This award is for creative nonfiction writers who have never been in residence at VCCA.


Application guidelines

Applications are being processed through our online application system HERE. Notification will go out no later than Janary 31, 2017.

Residencies can begin anytime after June 1, 2017 and must be taken within two years of being awarded.

An outside panel of writers in the field will jury the submitted work.

Questions: Please contact Dana Jones


What's included

The award includes a fully-funded residency of up to 30 days at VCCA, an honorarium of $1,000, and reimbursed travel expenses of up to $750. Including the $180 per diem cost of operation, the total value of the award is $7,150. A VCCA residency includes a private studio, a private bedroom with semi-private bath, and three prepared meals each day in a community of 25 professional artists, writers, and composers.



Established in 2003 and originally called the VCCA Award for Excellence in the Arts, this award is endowed by VCCA board member Linda Wachtmeister and adminis­tered by the Fellows Council. The Wachtmeister Award is presented bi-annually in rotation to a promi­nent writer, visual artist, or composer whose significant achievement in the arts is widely recognized and who has never been in residence at the VCCA. 

VCCA is an international working retreat for highly accomplished visual artists, writers, and composers. In the rolling foothills of Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, they are able to work on their creative projects free from the distractions of day-to-day life. 

VCCA encourages artists of all backgrounds to apply for admission. VCCA complies with all applicable laws and regulations regarding non-discrimination in its programming.

Previous recipients include: Ha Jin, Poet and Fiction WriterThomas Roma, PhotographerAnna WeesnerComposerKia Corthron, Playwright, James McGarrell, Painter, Debra Marquart, Poet and Anne FerrerSculptor.